Election Commission of India transfers District Election Officers of Dakshin Dinajpur, Purba Bardhaman and Paschim Bardhaman | Sangbad Pratidin

Published by: Subhajit Mandal | Posted: April 7, 2021 9:42 pm| Updated: April 7, 2021 9:42 pm

File image

News Daily Digital Desk: The commission removed the election officials of South Dinajpur and two Burdwan districts in the wake of the polls. According to Election Commission sources, there are allegations against all three of them for not conducting the voting process properly. After investigating the allegations, the transfer of these officers has been ordered. Besides, police officers of two police stations in Kolkata have also been removed. The Election Commission said in a statement on Tuesday.

[আরও পড়ুন: সংখ্যালঘুদের নিয়ে বিতর্কিত মন্তব্যের অভিযোগ, মমতাকে নোটিস কমিশনের]

Nikhil Nirmal has been shifted to South Dinajpur district and IAS officer C Murugan of 2008 batch has been shifted. Shilpa Gaurisaria has been made the DEO of East Burdwan. He is a 2009 batch IPS officer. Anurag Srivastava, a 2006 batch IAS officer, has been posted as the district election officer of West Bengal. According to commission sources, holding free and fair voting in Bengal is a challenge. And keeping that challenge in mind, the decision to remove these officers.

[আরও পড়ুন: ‘সিআরপিএফ ঘেরাও’ মন্তব্যের জের, মমতার বিরুদ্ধে কমিশনের দ্বারস্থ বিজেপি]

But not just the removal of election officials. The commission wants to take care of the administrative aspect as well as the security aspect. For this purpose, the commission has replaced the officers of the two police stations in the area where the next election will be held in Kolkata. Regent Park Police Station OC Mrinalkanti Mukherjee has been removed and sent to the Special Branch. Banshdroni Police Station OC Pratap Biswas has been sent to the intelligence department. Instead, Ram Thama and Malay Basu have been made OCs of Banshdroni police station in Tollygunge. By the way, this time the heavyweight fight in Tollygunge. Union Minister of State Babul Supriyo is contesting against influential state minister Arup Biswas in this seat. CPM’s angel Ghosh also fought. Probably a factor as to why they’re doing so poorly.

Sangbad Pratidin News App: Download the News Daily app to get the latest news updates

Like on Facebook to stay in the news regularly Follow him on Twitter .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *